Advisory Boards

Advisory Boards

The Steering Board has established three Advisory Boards (ABs): the Societal AB (SoAB)Scientific AB (ScAB), and Ethical AB (EAB). They include distinguished specialists who play key roles for societal, ethical, and scientific matters. The ABs support and oversees the development and progression of NEAR related to societal, scientific and ethical matters. 

Societal Board (SoAB)

Wilhelmina Hoffman, President of the Swedish Dementia Centre (SDC) and Chief Executive Officer at Silviahemmet. Geriatrician.

Åsa Craftman, Lecturer, Sophiahemmet. Member of the Scientific Advisory Board for Human Pharmaceuticals at the Swedish Medical Products Agency. ‎  

Mats Ericson, Professor of Industrial Work Science, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) and Chairman of the Swedish Association of University Teachers and Researchers (SULF).

Johan Fastbom, Professor in Geriatric Pharmacology, Karolinska Institutet and Investigator at the National Board of Health and Welfare.

Christina Tallberg, Chairwoman, The Swedish National Pensioner’s Organisation (PRO).

Eva Eriksson, Chairwoman, The Swedish Association for Senior Citizens (SPF).  

Barbro Westerholm, Associate Professor, Karolinska Institutet. Member of the Parliament for the Liberal Party in Sweden.

Maria Nilsson, PhD student, the Swedish Family Care Competence Centre (SFCCC), Linnaeus University.

Scientific Board (ScAB)

Bengt Winblad, Professor of Geriatrics, Karolinska Institutet. Experience from Swedish Brain Power (SBP).

Miia Kivipelto, Professor of Clinical Geriatric Epidemilogy, Karolinska Institutet. Experience from consortia, e.g. MIND-AD, HATICE, MULTI-MODE.

Scott M. Hofer, Professor of Psychology, University of Victoria. Principal Investigator of Integrative Analysis of Longitudinal Studies of Aging and Dementia (IALSA).

Krim Talia, PhD and Senior Advisor. Vice President of Health and Life Science, Research Institutes of Sweden (RISE).

Dorly Deeg, Professor of Epidemiology of Ageing, VU University Medical Center Amsterdam. Experience Longitudinal Aging Study Amsterdam (LASA).

Ethical Board (EAB)

Torbjörn Tännsjö, Professor of Practical Philosophy, Stockholm University and Professor of Medical Ethics, Karolinska Isntitutet. Director of Stockholm Centre for Healthcare Ethics (CHE).

Heidi C. Howard, Senior researcher, Medical Ethics, Lund University and Department of Biology and Biological Engineering, Chalmers University of Technology.

Gert Helgesson, Professor of Medical Ethics, Stockholm Centre for Healthcare Ethics (CHE), Karolinska Institutet.

Marit Silén, Senior Lecturer, Department of Caring Sciences, University of Gävle.